Just Eat Website Review

Having used the Just Eat website about 10 different times now, I thought I would share my review on the overall service and my experience using it.

I have split my review into three sections, positives, negatives and conclusion:

Positives

The amount of times in the past that I have been at home and had no cash on me and really wanted a takeaway is quite often, and usually in this position I would be unable to order anything due to all the local restaurants not accepting any credit or debit card, but this is not the case now using Just Eat, so that has been a big positive for me and my family.

Being able to locate all the local takeaways via enterting my postcode on the Just Eat website is good. From this I learned about new places that I did not even know existed.

Being able to actually look through a menu online is also very handy. Usually at home we end up losing takeaway menu’s and end up just ordering things that we have had before, but actually being able to browse all the dishes online has been incredibly handy for us.

Reading reviews about what others think about a takeaway has been really useful in filtering out all the bad ones. Also from my experiences with the bad ones in which I have left a review first, I noticed not too long after similar negative reviews show up. It is good to filter out these horrible takeaways who end up providing a lousy service, and lousy food.

Negatives

I feel some of the local delivery charges that the takeaways impose are ridiculous, and in fact I actually just don’t bother ordering from these ones. For example before you even start adding food to your order on some they are already charging £3.00 for delivery. Just Eat really need to filter this out and fix it. How come one place in the same location as another can charge just £1.50, while the other one wants £3.00 or more.

The takeaways also need to sort out their delivery system for the delivery time expected by the buyer. You can choose a time that you would like the delivery to be at, however it is basically potluck whether you get it before this time or after. For example you could tell the restaurant when ordering that you want your delivery to be at 20:00pm, this maybe practical for you, perhaps this is after you have put your kids to bed and are going to sit down and relax, but the takeaways from my experience do not operate with the chosen delivery time, they seem to just deliver it when they are ready to. I once ordered something at 6pm and said that I wanted it be delivered at around 9pm that evening, I ended up getting the delivery at 8pm, no good at all. To get around this your best to order when your ready to eat within an hour, and just enter ‘deliver as soon as possible’, otherwise this feature is awful.

Conclusion

If you have money at home and you want a takeaway, do not order from Just Eat, this way you will be saving money as Just Eat do add on an additional charge, but by all means use their services to find local takeaways and to look at their menu.

If you don’t have money at home and you really want a takeaway then Just Eat I would recommend you use. Just be sure to take the time to look at all the individual reviews that people have submitted. In my opinion this is the most important thing you can do. I would rather order from a local takeaway who has 100 positive reviews and 10 negatives, rather than one with 100 negatives and 10 positives.

Visit Just Eat

Have you used the Just Eat website before? Share your comments/review below.

Submit Your Review


Submit your review
* Required Field

Just Eat Website Review SKU UPC Model

Unfortunately they do not offer any of the Mexican takeaways that I enjoy in my area, and I refuse to buy anything from a Chinese as always too salty,

Sep 05, 2014 by C. Gallagher

Unfortunately they do not offer any of the Mexican takeaways that I enjoy in my area, and I refuse to buy anything from a Chinese as always too salty, and I always have tummy trouble after eating Indian food, so not good for me. They actually offer no Mexican options for me at all which is a disappointment as I think I would have used this service quite often.

Response: Thanks for your review C. Gallagher ;)


A takeaway I like charge £4.50 delivery, they are only 2 miles away from my home, shocking. I refuse to pay that so will not be using the service eve

Aug 16, 2014 by Brian McD

A takeaway I like charge £4.50 delivery, they are only 2 miles away from my home, shocking. I refuse to pay that so will not be using the service even if I have no cash at home. Just Eat should sort this out, as restaurants are obviously overpricing not only delivery, but the cost of meals also, I guess so this covers all their fees, stupid really as less people will order and stop using.

Response: Thanks for your review Brian ;)


my fav place offers free delivery when i spend over 20 but on the just eat place the same one charges me 1.50 delivery on top of the just eat fee! scr

Aug 12, 2014 by ian

my fav place offers free delivery when i spend over 20 but on the just eat place the same one charges me 1.50 delivery on top of the just eat fee! screw that. like someone said though its good for looking at the menus.

Response: Thanks for your review Ian ;)


I use their online service to my advantage by just viewing the menus and food offered by my local takeaways, and then ordering the food via phone as t

Aug 08, 2014 by Ross Mears

I use their online service to my advantage by just viewing the menus and food offered by my local takeaways, and then ordering the food via phone as the prices are way too high online. Excellent for doing this as we never have menus laying around. As for the service they provide I have no clue and no intention of every trying.

Response: Thanks for your review Ross ;)


Just Eat do not care when something goes wrong with your order even though it\'s them you give the money too. Ordered a king size mixed kebab which wa

Aug 07, 2014 by Derek

Just Eat do not care when something goes wrong with your order even though it\'s them you give the money too. Ordered a king size mixed kebab which was not cheap for me and my girlfriend. I stated in the comments section when ordering that I wanted salad and garlic mayo but NOT to put the garlic mayo on the kebab, to keep it in the tub.

The idea was that we were sharing half each, and I wanted garlic mayo and she hates it. Order comes and kebab is fully covered in garlic mayo!!! She now cannot eat it. Phoned the takeaway to complain that they ruined a whole meal for 1 person, they do not want to know blaming the comment system for not working even though in my email confirmation from Just Eat it shows my comment. Just Eat do not want to know either, so F&*K them all as a company. Both companies will never be used again.

So much for just eating, no cooking, well that\'s exactly what we needed to do afterwards, cook.

Response: Thanks for your review Derek ;)


Much cheaper if you just call in your order and collect. Worked out by my calculations on last order a saving of over £5!!! Much cheaper to just driv

Aug 03, 2014 by Susan

Much cheaper if you just call in your order and collect. Worked out by my calculations on last order a saving of over £5!!! Much cheaper to just drive to bank machine, get cash and then collect in person. Will not be using just eat again - Rip Off.

Response: Thanks for your review Susan ;)


I like Just Eat but the other night I ordered from a new takeaway and got a little bit of a shock. The delivery man asked to see my bank card, but no

Jul 10, 2014 by Paul

I like Just Eat but the other night I ordered from a new takeaway and got a little bit of a shock. The delivery man asked to see my bank card, but no other takeaways have asked me that. I never had my card with me because my wife was away that evening with it, so told him this. He had to call back to the takeaway place to talk with the manager, but this time they said it was ok but it was normal practice for them to see it.

The only reason the company does not get 5 stars is that more expensive, even though still incredibly useful ;)

Response: Thanks for your review Paul ;)


The only problem with using Just Eat is that you pay the money upfront and this way not a lot you can do when you get your order. Usually because of b

Jun 03, 2014 by N. Skene

The only problem with using Just Eat is that you pay the money upfront and this way not a lot you can do when you get your order. Usually because of bad food I check the meal before I pay the driver and he leaves. I ordered all of my family a chicken burger each and left in the notes to make sure they all had lettuce, tomatoes and mayonnaise. I was not suprised when it arrived at my door and all the chicken burgers were dry, no salad, no sauce, nothing, just a bun with a chicken burger, pathetic.

In this situation because I had already paid online, I could not just refuse the food and not pay the driver and send the driver away with the crappy food. At least when paying with cash you have some sort of power, with Just Eat you have none.

Will not be using again, as the company I ordered from had glowing reviews on the website, so you cannot even rely on these if people enjoy being served crap!!! Some takeaway companies must have idiot chefs, I would never dream of sending customers dry buns.

Response: Thanks for your review N. Skene ;)


Am from Dundee so was pleased to see one of my favourites Istanbul Kebab House listed on the Just Eat website. Often not got the cash in hand to phone

May 19, 2014 by Michael

Am from Dundee so was pleased to see one of my favourites Istanbul Kebab House listed on the Just Eat website. Often not got the cash in hand to phone up and get delivery, so in these times I can still order the best kebab in Dundee. Also brilliant to see a full menu as I order few side things now that I never knew they did.

Response: Thanks for your review Michael ;)


Compared the prices of our favourite takeaway menu to the same menu online. Including the service charge and the delivery charge, and the over-inflate

May 10, 2014 by annmarie

Compared the prices of our favourite takeaway menu to the same menu online. Including the service charge and the delivery charge, and the over-inflated prices on the menu, the total for the order was going to be £6.84 more. No THANK YOU JustEat.

Response: Thanks for your review Annmarie ;)


stupid takeaway!! they accepted my families order, then called to say they dont deliver to our area, left us with no food and no money until we get re

Apr 10, 2014 by barry

stupid takeaway!! they accepted my families order, then called to say they dont deliver to our area, left us with no food and no money until we get refunded, something we were all looking forward to, wont be using this service again.

Response: Thanks for your review Barry ;)


Discovered a fantastic chip shop in my city which I was unaware it even existed. The quality of food is so much better than my local one so that's a b

Apr 04, 2014 by Danny

Discovered a fantastic chip shop in my city which I was unaware it even existed. The quality of food is so much better than my local one so that's a big plus for using the just eat company.

Delivery charges are a little high so that is my only negative, other than this though it's proving to be extremely useful for when we have no cash at home and would like to order using our debit cards.

Response: Thanks for your review Danny ;)


Whenever your going to order from a listing on the website go here first and look at the food standards agency - http://ratings.food.gov.uk/ Then see

Mar 02, 2014 by ranjan

Whenever your going to order from a listing on the website go here first and look at the food standards agency - http://ratings.food.gov.uk/ Then see if the takeaway has the pass certificate before ordering.

I ordered from one Indian and the meal was disgusting, I then checked this website and they have a certificate which says 'improvement required'. So now I always check this first, and you can regularly check it as the certificates change, a takeaway can get a new owner and they are not very good or really good.

If the certificate is bad then you know the investigators thought their kitchen was disgusting and you should not be ordering food from them. Maybe they also find germs, bacteria, fridges full of old food etc, though if that serious I hope they maybe can get them closed.

Response: Thanks for your review Ranjan ;)


Did a comparison with what we normally order when collecting, and the total cost it would be by ordering from the same takeaway on just eat, and the m

Mar 01, 2014 by Andrew

Did a comparison with what we normally order when collecting, and the total cost it would be by ordering from the same takeaway on just eat, and the meal for 5 worked out £4.65 more expensive!!! Will not be using for this reason.

Response: Thanks for your review Andrew ;)


What would usually cost us about £14 for the 3 of us came to over £18 via using the Just Eat service. Takeaways push prices up on it, and that also

Feb 12, 2014 by Michelle Winder

What would usually cost us about £14 for the 3 of us came to over £18 via using the Just Eat service. Takeaways push prices up on it, and that also includes delivery prices. Will only ever use at last resort.

Now also get emails sent to me from Just Eat which are never helpful or offering much, basically sent at a convenient time like on a Friday/Saturday when people are thinking about what to have for dinner.

Response: Thanks for your review Michelle ;)


Ordered food at around 10:15pm and was accepted, by 11:30pm still nothing had come. Tried to call takeaway and no answer, went on just eat site and li

Feb 06, 2014 by Peter

Ordered food at around 10:15pm and was accepted, by 11:30pm still nothing had come. Tried to call takeaway and no answer, went on just eat site and live help was closed, only available 9am-11pm!! Typical. So was left with no food, no explanation, nothing.

Next day got it sorted, still waiting for refund, will not use either companies again.

Response: Thanks for your review Peter ;)


Have used the service once now and was very happy. It was late at night on Saturday evening, I had zero money on me so decided to use Just Eat. It was

Jan 27, 2014 by John

Have used the service once now and was very happy. It was late at night on Saturday evening, I had zero money on me so decided to use Just Eat. It was close to midnight so was unsure if could even get a delivery, but thankfully a takeaway in another close town were still open.

Delivery was fast, and the place I ordered the meal from provided good food, a place I was unaware even existed, so will definitely be using the Just Eat service again and this takeaway.

The only one negative I have is that of course you need to pay a delivery fee, and also a small charge on your credit/debit card, so buying food this way is more costly, but worth it when your hungry and have no other option. When I do have money on me I will be ordering and collecting my own orders just to save money., and for all other times this is good.

Response: Thanks for your review John ;)


A little bit bored with the selection of takeaways that they have in my local area. Basically I can order Indian (which is my least favourite food), t

Jan 12, 2014 by Graham

A little bit bored with the selection of takeaways that they have in my local area. Basically I can order Indian (which is my least favourite food), they have loads of these, ok if I am wanting a kebab, but apart from those they offer little else.

Would be nice to see some different types on it such as Mexican and Chinese, as my town does have these, but Just Eat have not signed any of them up, or they don't want to.

Apart from this though, great concept, maybe one day my area has better coverage, for now though I will be going out to collect most of my takeaway meals.

Response: Thanks for your review Graham ;)


Shocking service. Ordered a King Prawn curry but the restaurant sent us a chicken curry instead. Phoned up to complain with restuarant direct, they in

Dec 22, 2013 by Barry

Shocking service. Ordered a King Prawn curry but the restaurant sent us a chicken curry instead. Phoned up to complain with restuarant direct, they informed me they were all out of prawns!! I asked them why they never just declined my order then on the Just Eat website, as they manually can approve or decline, and the guy said he never knew then that he never had prawns.

Asked that they come and collect meal and refund me, but was told he could not give me a refund as I ordered via Just Eat, and best that he could do was offer me another meal.

Not good enough as we wanted a prawn curry. Told him to come and collect this meal (which they did), and will now have to sort this out with Just Eat so I can get a refund. Currently I am out of pocket on this as the meal was returned and I have paid for food.

Not sure, but will see how Just Eat deal with this, and from that will decide whether I use them again or not. To be fair if Just Eat sort it all out, it's really the takeaway at fault here.

Response: Thanks for sharing your review Barry ;)


Was going to order for the first time as never had any cash on me, so registered at the Just Eat website and went to the takeaway in our area where me

Nov 20, 2013 by Martin

Was going to order for the first time as never had any cash on me, so registered at the Just Eat website and went to the takeaway in our area where me and my wife normally get our meal from. After adding everything that we normally order to our order on Just Eat, and including the delivery and Just Eat charge, it was £7.50 more than what it would normally cost us!

Needless to say I jumped in the car, went to the ATM and withdrew cash and went and got me and the wife our order the normal way, and I am £7.50 better off for doing it, less tiny petrol cost.

Will not be trying to use that website again.

Response: Thanks for your review Martin ;)


I rate the site lowly due to the ridiculous delivery costs my local takeaway put on this site. Sorry but I am not paying £3-£4 delivery cost, when i

Oct 28, 2013 by Sean

I rate the site lowly due to the ridiculous delivery costs my local takeaway put on this site. Sorry but I am not paying £3-£4 delivery cost, when it only costs £1 if I have money on me and order using a telephone.

Just Eat need to look into this, the takeaways should not be allowed to do this, just because they think a good chance to get more profit from person paying online with a debit or credit card!

Response: Thanks for your review Sean ;)


Have had a good experience using Just Eat and I believe through evidence of my own that when you order food via this website the service is always bet

Oct 26, 2013 by Stevie

Have had a good experience using Just Eat and I believe through evidence of my own that when you order food via this website the service is always better. Let me explain.

I have ordered from a company for the first time on Just Eat for Indian food when I had no cash on me. The food was brilliant. When I ordered again from the same company when I had cash (not using Just Eat), I found the service and quality of the meal not so good. This has happened on a few occasions now.

My theory is that because the company knows that feedback will be left for them for all to see on the Just Eat website, they make these orders top priority. I know this should not be the case, but in my opinion it is.

So yeah, I recommend using this company to order food, and at least if you\'re not pleased with the service and food, you can leave honest negative feedback.

Response: Thanks for your review Stevie ;)


Ordered from them during the week and was pretty pleased with the whole transaction. Delivery from a company I never knew existed was fast, really tas

May 10, 2013 by Luke

Ordered from them during the week and was pretty pleased with the whole transaction. Delivery from a company I never knew existed was fast, really tasty food also. So not only great for ordering at home when no cash, but also great for getting to know other takeaways in and around your city whom you never knew about.

Response: Thanks for your review on Just Eat Luke ;)


Thought I would share my own review for the Just Eat website. Have been using it on and off for about 6 months now, and only once has a order ever

May 07, 2013 by Amanda

Thought I would share my own review for the Just Eat website.

Have been using it on and off for about 6 months now, and only once has a order ever been seriously delayed. We ordered about 6pm and it never got to us until about 10pm, however this was apparently a fault in the system, so this can be forgiven.

Other than this no real complaints, I love the fact we can order food when we have no money at home and can just use our credit card.

For me personally though I just wish they had more Chinese resturants in my area signed up, to be honest it is mostly all Indian, and although we do like Indian food, it would be nice to have a little more variety when looking to order something.

Response: Thanks for your review Amanda.


2.5 5.0 24 24 Unfortunately they do not offer any of the Mexican takeaways that I enjoy in my area, and I refuse to buy anything from a Chinese as always too salty, and I always have tummy troub Just Eat Website Review

11 thoughts on “Just Eat Website Review

  1. Wasted £8.80 on a hamburger and fries, tasted disgusting, could only eat 1/4 of it, dog even refused the rest. Going to stop wasting money now on meals and start cooking from home. Could probably buy 3 dinners in Asda for £8.80.

    • That is my exact thinking last time I wasted money on a takeaway that I never enjoyed, wondered how much good food I could have bought instead from the supermarket. Not ordered anything since and don’t think I am going to bother again.

  2. Too expensive and my takeaway never sent me free crackers, and I had well and truly spent over the limit they said to get them free on regular menu. Will not be using again.

  3. For the person who complained about the costly delivery costs, even though this is completely unacceptable, I read that Just Eat charges these takeaways 11% commission on every order, so probably the takeaways trying to recoup some of this back.

    Not a problem for me as I have completely went off takeaways now, I find the food not always to a great standard, and too costly for a plate of rubbish. I much prefer to cook my own meals or eat in a restaurant. Saving a lot of money not wasting it on takeaways now too.

    • Wow, 11%, that seems like a lot, no wonder the prices need to be hiked up a bit. I think Just Eat are being slightly greedy here (no pun intended), as they also charge my charge when I use them, I think it’s 50p extra or so, so not only do they get 11% of the total order cost, they get from the buyer also. Going to try and stop using so much now anyway, time I lost a bit of weight.

    • I was unaware also of the 11% charge on order amounts, seems quite steep as takeaways run with quite fine margins I imagine. Makes sense they need to charge more than they do with walk-in customers. On a negative note for Just Eat though, I think this can turn off having more takeaways, and it will also turn off potential buyers who will then jump in their car and go to an ATM machine rather than pay more.

      • Remember though its pay as you go. So the restaurant only gets charged on orders they get, no other charges for being on the site etc, so it makes sense to just charge slightly more than normal to be on the site, and then get that extra custom.

  4. I love the concept as no establishment gets away with producing a lousy service now. If you are a poor takeaway you will get poor reviews, and if you are good then you will be getting loads of good reviews.

    Too many times in the past shady takeaways have hidden underground, as how could you leave a review in the past when just ordering directly from the takeaway, that is why I like this concept.

    • Trust me you would think that would be the case, but you still get a lot of bad takeaways on just eat, myself included have had a few bad takeaways. As you say though, this way at least filters the good from the bad in the form of the ratings and reviews ;) I would like to hope that all the people with a half a brain who get a bad takeaway will at least give it the review it deserves.

  5. The only thing I don’t like about Just Eat is that the rule applies ‘the customer is always right’, with the Just Eat company the takeaway is the customer for them, not you.

    I had a problem with a meal and all they were really interested in was the fact did I get it delivered, the takeaway loses out because I will not order from them again anyway and they got a bad review, but Just Eat lose out also as I no longer will use their services.

    • But that’s just a silly comment… Would you stop using the Yellow Pages or Yell.com just because you had a problem with a builder or a plumber you found in there? Just-eat are providing a service to both the consumer and the outlet… They charge a small fee for cards (50p) but you can pay C.O.D.. And they charge 11% to the takeaway but that has nothing to do with you, they can charge what they like the contract is between them and the takeaway.. Why do people moan about things just because they think its “principle” when the reality is it’s nothing like that

Leave name and email blank to comment anonymously.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anti-Spam Quiz: